Gennady Golovkin vs Ryota Murata: Big Drama Show live from Japan – date and time set

The date and time have been set for Gennadiy Golovkin’s next fight, as “GGG” goes through the ropes on Saturday, April 9 at the Saitama Super Arena in Saitama, Japan. The Kazakhstan boxing star takes on Japanese champion Ryota Murata in the middleweight title unification.

Advertisement

Golovkin brings his IBF and IBO belts to the table. Murata enters the squared circle holding the WBA title. The world championship bout is scheduled for twelve rounds.

Golovkin (41-1-1, 36 KOs) won his previous fight via seventh-round retirement against Kamil Szeremeta. Prior to that, he scored a unanimous decision over Sergiy Derevyanchenko to take the then vacant belts and knocked out Steve Rolls in round 4 to rebound from the majority decision loss suffered to Canelo Alvarez in their rematch.

Murata (16-2, 13 KOs) is coming off a fifth-round TKO victory over Steven Butler. Prior to that, he stopped Rob Brant in the second round of their rematch and reclaimed the belt.


How to watch GGG vs Murata live, date and time

Boxing fans can watch Gennady Golovkin vs Ryota Murata live on DAZN. The date is Saturday, April 9. The start time is scheduled for 3:30 a.m. ET / 12:30 a.m. PT in the US, 8:30 a.m. BST in the UK, and 5:30 p.m. AEST in Australia.

Golovkin and Murata are scheduled to take their ringside walks around 6:30 a.m. ET / 3:30 a.m. PT in the US, 11:30 a.m. BST in the UK and 8:30 p.m. AEST in Australia.


GGG vs. Murata fight card

The current GGG vs Murata fight card can be found below. The final lineup should be announced shortly.

  • Gennadiy Golovkin vs. Ryota Murata, 12 rounds, middleweight – Golovkin’s IBF and IBO middleweight titles, Murata’s WBA (Super) middleweight title
  • Shuichiro Yoshino vs. Masayuki Ito, 12 rounds, lightweight – WBO Asia-Pacific lightweight title
  • Junto Nakatani vs. Ryota Yamauchi, 12 Rounds, Flyweight – WBO Flyweight Title
  • Kazuki Anaguchi vs. Ryuji Yamamoto, 6 rounds, super bantamweight
  • Hiroka Amaki vs. Taiga Kato, 4 rounds, welterweight

Advertisement

Links to streaming or pay-per-view platforms provided on this page, if any, are affiliate links. We will receive a commission, at no additional cost to you, if you use these links to make a purchase.